About Me

Hello, my name is Barbara and I am an English and History tutor. I am extremely passionate about teaching English and History in a way that’s fun and inspirational.

I have been a private tutor for six years. Prior to this, I taught in schools and I had a three year stint working as a journalist for the Financial Times. In addition to being a fully qualified teacher, I have a valid DBS Certificate which qualifies me to work with young students.

I have worked with hundreds of students from all backgrounds including:

  • Children in Nursery School

  • Students in Primary and Secondary School

  • Students in Sixth Form and University

  • Mature students who are studying English as a second language to further their careers 

I am extremely proud to say that over 90% of my students have achieved pass rates ranging from A* - C (Level 9 - 6 in the GCSE syllabus), and they walk away with renewed confidence in their English skills!


Qualifications

I studied my First Degree in English and Politics at the University of Nottingham.

I completed my Masters and PGCE (teacher training) in King's College University, London.

I also hold a valid fully-enhanced DBS Certificate meaning I can work with students of all ages.


Tuition Services

I usually provide all the material students need to work from and revise for their lessons and I ensure that the workbooks and revision plans I create for my students are tailored to meet their specific needs and areas of weakness. The age groups I tutor are:

Screen Shot 2018-08-08 at 13.48.50.png
  • Young students in Pre-School and Nursery

  • Students in Primary and Secondary School

  • A Level students in Sixth Form and College

  • University Students

  • Mature Students studying English to pass IELTS exams or further their careers in London

Interested in working with me? Below are the range of teaching services that I provide:

DinxF9qX0AEi4xt.jpg-large-4.jpeg
  • One-to-one tuition - Skype tuition

  • Adult learners - Skype tuition

  • Corporate Training - Please email me as I charge a separate rate for corporate training classes

Price and rates:

I offer online Skype lessons. My hourly rate for online lessons are:

  • ONE HOUR - £80

Interested in booking a lesson? Email me: barbara.njau@gmail.com or text me on: 07411854543.


Parent and student testimonials

Barbara has been excellent in tutoring my son in GCSE English Language and Literature. She is incredibly well organised and knowledgeable.
— Adam R
Barbara is always very well prepared, punctual and enthusiastic. I’m pleased she is working with my son.
— Leila P
Our seventeen year old daughter Sheila wanted help with her A Level English literature as she had gotten disappointing exam results in her mocks. I am so glad we found Barbara to help. She had a really solid understanding of all the texts Sheila was studying, and she was able to communicate very enthusiastically which made Sheila even more engaged. In the course of the year she helped Sheila go from a D predicted grade to a B, which is simply amazing as this is what Sheila needed to get into her first choice university. We are all really grateful!
— Sasha S.
My son has a learning disability and I needed someone who was patient and experienced in dealing with children with complex learning needs. My son is now 16 years old and Barbara has been tutoring him for three years. I really appreciate how patient and helpful she is.
— Josh M.
Barbara tutored my daughter in Year 11 in preparation for her upcoming English GCSE exams. She was always friendly, organised, punctual and very courteous. She helped my daughter get that extra confidence she needed and gave her many useful tips and hints to help her get top grades in her exams. I have recommended Barbara to a couple of my daughter’s classmates and they are very happy with her as well. I would not hesitate to use Barbara’s services again should the occasion arise and I will continue to recommend her to anyone who asks about English tuition.
— Rana N.
Barbara has been tutoring my daughter for her GCSE English. She has been so helpful and is a really enthusiastic and inspiring teacher. She makes each lesson so interesting. I am very grateful to her.
— Ingrid B
Barbara is an amazing and lovely tutor - she always puts in so much effort into making tutoring sessions enjoyable and she is extremely helpful with giving constructive criticism. I highly recommend her.
— Christophe N.
Our seventeen year old daughter wanted some help with her A level English Literature and we discovered Barbara on Tutorfair. After one lesson it was very clear that she had a really solid understanding of her subject and was able to communicate very enthusiastically her knowledge. Her comprehensive text notes are invaluable and Agnes very much looks forward to her next lesson.
— Christopher P
Barbara is currently teaching me English Language AS Level. I really struggled this winter to get decent grades in class tests in college, and I reached out to her just before Christmas. Have been having classes since this new year and she has been an ongoing supportive tutor - available when I need her, even on a last minute basis. Great tutor for English, and I am enjoying our evening tuition classes.
— Christiana L

Read more reviews past parents and students have to stated about working with me as a tutor on my Yell.com page here. Also read my reviews which on my Tutorfair page here.